“The list”

autoimmune, Coping, experiences, health, Inspiration, life, Uncategorized, Wellness

Perhaps like me you’re one of those unlucky people, who when you go to see a new healthcare professional or sometimes even a beautician, or you’re just filling out a form for something, where you’re not expecting it, you have to recite the dreaded list. 

‘Do you have any health conditions?’

“NOOO IM GONNA GET DRY MOUTH! Seriously is this not on the system!? Do you need to know?”

I find most people switch off about half way through my list. But the thing is, it’s not just a list, it’s my life! I deal with this crap every day, so you might be getting frustrated by having to write down or read through my list but imagine living with all of the things on the list!!

So perhaps lovely readers you might be so brave and lovely as to bear with me and read my list and then comment with yours and I will read yours. We can appreciate eachothers struggles but we can’t know how it feels. And this is one time when we are writing the list just for ourselves and we are accepting that our lives are hard but we are owning it and we are awesome and that list is part of us 🙂 much love…here goes!

  • Hashimotos disease
  • Migraine (including hemiplegic migraine)
  • Pernicious anemia 
  • Depression and anxiety
  • Endometriosis
  • Vulvodynia (& vestibulodynia)
  • Essential tremor
  • Fibromyalgia (recently diagnosed)
  • Irritable bowel syndrome
  • Hypermobility syndrome
  • Acid reflux disease
  • Eczema 
  • Piles 😳
  • Bruxism (Grindy teeth, locking jaw!)
  • Costochondritis

That’ll do!

I do feel good listing it and I actually don’t feel embarrassed, none of it is my fault and I feel I’ve been given a poo-y stick sometimes but I have a lot of great things too in my life and we are all allowed moments of self pity as long as they are brief and you get back up. Managing your life around how you feel daily is important and accepting that you mustn’t compare yourself to anyone else is key. If you want to join in please leave your list for me to read 🙂 

5 thoughts on ““The list”

  1. I talk to patients every with long laundry lists such as yours every day. It doesn’t phase me one bit. Your list really doesn’t look that unmanageable … maybe uncomfortable for you, but nothing is truly life-threatening … you will have to keep your thyroid levels even though — not like you really wanted advice or anything!

    So, here’s my list:

    * Bruxism (grinding teeth & clenching jaw)
    * Hormone induced headaches
    * Hormone induced insomnia
    * Perimenopausal symptoms (hot flashes and see hormone-induced conditions above)
    * Cervical spine osteoarthritis & osteophytes with chronic neck pain
    * New onset right arm pain (undergoing further diagnostic testing, possible nerve impingement)
    * Presbyopia (it means I need reading glasses!!!!)
    * Chronic, intermittent constipation
    * Keratosis pilaris to arms
    * Sciatica
    * Mild periodontal disease (Yay! Just love this one!)
    * Intermittent vertigo episodes (This one is the worst!)

    We’re a sexy duo aren’t we? 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi there thank you for leaving your equally long list! Looks like you have a lot going on but I’m sure as a doctor (or nurse) you know the best ways to manage your conditions and are used to your everyday feeling of normal. I just wanted to pick up on your point from the beginning, which is that none of us can truly know what it is like to live with all of these things combined unless we have all of these things combined. Like you say, i do not have anything live threatening, my risk of stroke is quite high but that’s about it. But my life is far more than just uncomfortable. I have a lot of pain, endometriosis and vulvodynia cause huge amounts of pain and my autoimmune diseases give me days where I just can’t get out of bed. Like you I also get incredibly dizzy sometimes and I suffer with hemiplegic migraines too which paralyse my right side for hours. Basically what I’m trying to say is I’m ok and will be ok and sometimes I feel good, but it’s my experience and only I know it. Thank you for commenting though and I hope you yourself are having a good day x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

