Expectations

experiences, Growing up, health, Inspiration, life, Life Story, Mental health, motivation, Self doubt, Self improvement, Uncategorized, Wellness


In life most people are always expecting something. Whether it’s what will happen next in their day, or whether that new pill they’re on is going to work or not. We expect things because predicting outcomes gives us something to aim towards. It usually goes hand in hand with how optimistic or pessimistic we are in general too. Sometimes people think that expecting the worse can be a good thing because you’ll only end up meeting that expectation or being pleasantly surprised. But surely it’s better to approach things with more confidence therefore creating a path along the way that will ultimately lead to the more positive outcome you’re expecting.
But what happens when things don’t meet our expectations? I’ve dealt with this myself and it’s something I’ve been trying to come to terms with recently after realising that not reaching my own expectations was affecting me more than I ever knew. I always had a very clear idea of where I would be in my career by now but unfortunately my health set me back and the level I have achieved isn’t what I always expected it would be. Whilst I have accepted that now, disappointment is something you have to go through when you have made an expectation for yourself. You also face other people’s expectations too. For me I also had other people’s same high expectations which created a lot of guilt and shame. But that is why we must live for ourselves and make sure that we have pride and happiness no matter what we achieve or don’t, without worrying that everyone around us is pleased with everything we do or don’t. 
You wont always meet expectations and neither will the things around you in your life but you can learn to live with expectations and be more kind and reasonable to yourself along the way.

2 thoughts on “Expectations

  1. I find that I need to have expectations for a goal to be realized because that makes me work harder for it. If it is seeming hopeless, it is harder to convince myself that I need to put in the time. Whatever the conclusion might be, as long as I have tried my best, at least my future will not have regrets.

    Like

    1. It’s good that you don’t look at expectations as something you either reach or fall short of and create a negativity towards yourself if things go wrong. You seem to have a good perspective on things which is great! They’re something we always will create in our minds so we have to be more positive in our response to the outcome which you’re obviously already doing! Thanks so much for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

